Unit 12 – Research

For my research I was looking at different vocal microphones and their pros and cons to see what one I will use to record my artist with.

Rode NT 2000

VS

AKG C414

After reviewing both microphones I feel as though when it comes to quality the AKG is better and has a smoother frequency response, however the Rode has an adjustable polar pattern feature, this means that I can change how much sound the microphone picks up and from what direction. Another difference is that the AKG has a Bass cut filter to cut out deeper sounds where as the Rode comes with a low cut filter that also takes out the low frequencies.

On the topic of vocals, I also researched techniques that I could use on some vocals such as tape delay and plate reverb.

Tape Delay

Plate Reverb

Both of these techniques make vocals sound better in their own different way, with tape delay you can make the vocals sound as if it’s been projected from a tape player. Plate reverb is also good for vocals because it imitates the sound of someone singing with a plate behind the Mic, this was a technique used before there were plugins to get a nice echoing sound. Both of these approaches actually can be used together and actually work very well together.

Other things that I researched where techniques that may be useful where such things as Room mic placement and snare placement and many other techniques involving placement of microphones.

Room Mic

A room Mic is great because it can be used to record many things such as drums or even a group of guitars. It will give you all the sounds from the room and you will also get natural reverb. If I was going to use a room mic it would definitely be when I’m recording drums as it give body to all the other channels when mixed in properly.

Snare Mic

With a good snare mic position you can manipulate how you want the snare to sound like, you would do this by positioning your snare, examples of positions could be me placing the mic pointing to the middle of the snare with would gain a fuller sound however if I had the mic on the bottom of the snare I would get a bigger rattling sound as it would be closer to the wire.

Overhead

When researching different techniques for an overhead mic placement I found an useful video that presented to me 5 different styles of mic placement, these were, XY, Recorderman, Spaceman, JJM Special and back to back. After watching this video I decided that I would do some primary research and tested what type of techniques I liked and get the best sound from, personally I preferred the Spaced pair and the XY positions as I felt it got the best sound.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started