Unit 5 – 3.1

As an overall I feel like the two recordings of the bands went extremely well as I think they where both recorded to a high standard and it overall felt like a professional setting whilst we where in recording them. The rock band we recorded were a lot more time consuming as there were more band members and there where many takes due to technical difficulties. However the Acoustic band where much easier to record because fortunately there weren’t many technical issues and also the fact there it was a slow song and there were only two band members.

When placing microphones for both acts I thing our choices where good but could be better, the acoustic recording was better because the placement of the guitar was quite pressed in and the vocals where more isolated in a room whereas the band recorded the vocals outside of the booth. Next time I would record both vocals inside the booth because from experience the booth recording sounded way better.

Some of the technical difficulties were things life faulty wires, then if there was a problem we would change the wire until it was fixed. If the equipment was faulty for example a DI we would have to replace that as well. The most annoying thing that went wrong would have to be no sound through the headphones, we fixed this by adjusting the aux on the desk as the people in the studio before us turned them down, this was the most annoying issue we had because it was such a simple solution.

Next time when recording I shall make sure all the mic placements bring out a nice sound and keep adjusting them to test different sounds. Things I’m not so good at is being on the logic program because I haven’t used it as much as as I should, this is my own fault. However what I work well on is placing microphones and organisation, this is because I mainly place them hence why I haven’t really used the logic program, so for future sessions I shall have more of a variety with the equipment available to use.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started