Unit 9 – Developing Music Performance and Production Skills

1.1 – Planning

For this project I plan on creating a chilled out track using at least 3-4 samples from my sample pack. Some examples of chilled out songs that I have taken inspiration is Gotye-Somebody That I used To Know. I took inspiration as it has many strange sounds within the song. Another Track that is chilled out that I liked was Juice WRLD-Robbery even though it docent have many samples in its still a chilled out track that I enjoy.

I will acquire these samples by recording myself hitting two different items together, for example a pen and a door handle; from this sound I could use it as a high hat as its quite a high tinny sound. I will be recording all of my sounds on my iPhone using the Voice Memos App. There are some objects I plan on getting samples from, such as a table, a glass Bottle, Mouse clicking and me flicking a box.

To achieve a good sound from the samples I need to make sure there isn’t much or any background noise. However in the track I can make my noises sound good by using effects such as EQ and Reverb, These effects will make my Samples sound “good” as I can manipulate the sounds to my liking.

 

2.1 – Research

Creating instruments from found sound

Found sound song

Article on Found Sound

Magazine on found sound

 

3.1 – Composition

Found sound project 

4.1 – Feedback

For my feedback I asked a classmate to give me positive or negative feed back. after listening to my track they began talking about how it built up and how the orchestral theme was cool as its not easy to use orchestral sounds with found sound. Despite its difficulty I managed to make into a hip-hop inspired track.

When they listened to the track the main feedback I got back was the fact that it was rather plain and how there wasn’t much else going on, I understand their point however I unfortunately struggled to create a track in the first place as it is not my strong point.

4.1 – Reflection

My project as a whole wasn’t a bad turn out, however my plan of action in my head went straight out the window when I struggled to find sounds that I actually enjoyed so then from that point on I decided to focus on getting the track complete and even then it was challenging In itself.

As I began with my track I started with the drums, from there I used a basic drum beat and then aded in some shaker noises to give more life to the drums after that I added another drum beat to act as some form of counter beat. After that I put some violins in to have some form of stringed instrument as I thought it would help me decide what I wanted to do with the found sound, however this was not the case.

From there I added a piano melody with actually worked very well and then to keep with the orchestral theme I added some trumpets in some parts. I felt as if this was necessary to have some depth within the song as without it feels a bit bland.

Once I had my track I decided to use my found sound and put it in my track. For my first sound I hit a pillow then made it sound like a kick by using the EQ plug in to give it a deep kicking effect. My next sound I decided to use was me nocking my Toggle stick on an xbox controller backwards to give a snare effect, I was happy with the outcome of this sound as I actually think it sounds quite good.

Overall my track came out a lot better then I thought it would be, however in my opinion it wasn’t great. Nonetheless I also had trouble having ideas for my found sound some of my sounds were done at home and some were just coincidences where I heard a noise and recorded it.

If I were to recreate my track and do another one I would put a drop in to make it interesting, then at some point I would change the whole style and beat up while still using found sound.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started