Unit 7 – 1.2

26th November 2018

Today we started our remixing project, I Chose Linkin park song called A Light That Never Comes, I decided to choose this song because it was a song I’ve never heard of before and I wanted see how I could transform it to my style of track. I began by planning what I would use from the original song, I decided to use just the vocals.

4th December 2018

I began to play chords into the track how they should be played, I found this worked well and it sounds good, the first thing I did after I put the chords in was choose a sound, I used ES2 with is a synth program for my first set of chords. then I copy and pasted the midi  twice into a different tracks and used alchemy to get these cool synths.

7th January 2019

I started to add in some sci-fi synths to give it an abstract feel, this was effective because it give it a weird and cool vibe. I also put an organ in there for more baseline purposes. After compleating these I moved on to putting a guitar into the mix towards the end of the remix to give it a different feel because I didn’t want my remix to be repetitive.

8th January 2019

I then began to put in my drop for my track I started off by using a kick for a slow build up, then I put in a snare that gradually got faster, this is a classic buildup technique used in many songs. For the actual drop itself I grabbed a drum loop from the loop section and placed it in the mix, I liked it as it fitted so I decided that would be my drop. I felt like the drop wasn’t loud enough and weren’t powerful enough, so therefore I decided to grab some individual kick, snare and high-hat sounds. this was effective because it made my drop a load more effective and made it more alive.

15th January 2019

Once I was sure I finished my track began to put effects on my instruments and vocals, the effects I used where reverb, tape delay, compression. these effects where best suited for my track because they fit in nicely.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started