unit 7 – 3.1

When I started my remix I began slowing down the tempo because I felt as if it was too slow, therefore I changed the varispeed to 115 BPM. this was useful because it meant I could change the speed to how I wanted to.

After I began to look at the chords and notes in the actual song and use them in the track, therefore I could have the same notes as the original. When it came instruments for me to choose I instantly knew what I wanted and I chose to have synths that where very chilled out, however I felt like it needed a lively boost so I decided to add in some fast attack plucked synths. This combo worked really well because it was a nice blend of soothing sounds and fast attack sounds.

I then moved onto the Drop, the drop consists of a steady kick and a snare that rises in pace, this technique is used in many songs that have drops. when the drop hit I took out some of the lead vocals because it made the drop hit harder, I got the drop from a drum loop and then took different segments from another drum kit but put in the order of the loop. this gave it a bolder effect because it made it sound punchy.

towards the end of the track I began to try to change up the instruments so I decided to put a guitar in because it was a nice sound. there was also a very nice soothing sounding synth. I added these instruments in because they changed up the feel of the track and made it less repetitive.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started