Unit 8 – Context

An Album that inspired me to work with music definitely have to be Eminem and his album “Curtain Call” because the album really showed me how you can pretty much do anything and the beats to all the tracks where really cool, the main things that made the track where the way he used rock and rap within each other as he liked to use a rock guitar in a lot of his songs. There was also a variety of different moods that come with the songs, for example ‘Stan’ was a very emotional song about a fan who writes to Eminem and tells him how much he aspires to be him and in the end because he doesn’t reply to Stan he kidnappes his girlfriend and drives off a bridge. However on the same Album he has a song called just loose it which is about him being drunk, getting arrested and hitting on people. This Album in particular inspired me because of the range of emotions in each and every song.

Another thing that inspired me to work with music was the Film “Straight Outta Compton”, this is a well known film about the group NWA who involve rappers such as Easy-E, Dr Dre and Ice cube. The film is about a group of young black males who live in an area where police racially profile black males and assault them at any chance they get. Within the film they rap at concerts about police brutality and general things that happen to them daily. Therefore this film inspired me to get into music because even with a major disadvantage you can still be successful and its just overall inspiring.

Something else that inspired me to do music was definitely school because when I was able to choose my options to do for GCSEs I was able to take music technology as it was available to me, and by taking as I thought it would be an easy GCSE to have however as I was taking I got more interested and towards the end of that year I started to look into doing in for real and take myself further, as a whole my teacher who taught me for that year really inspired me to take music technology for further education.

Eminem inspired me to take music because when I listened to his album it just makes me want to go out there and be myself and pursue a music career, I get the similar feeling with the film Straight outa Compton as its very inspirational with how they rose to fame with their lifestyle consisting of being targeted by racial profiling and police brutality. These artists (Eminem and NWA) are inspirational to my project as they both have the theme of not giving up and they just both thrived of determination and they just got on with their task at hand no matter how difficult it is. This relates to my project because working in the studio with the band can be painful and it can take just one session to get one guitar track complete as the band keeps making mistakes in their own song, however I must remain professional and just let the band go at their own place and if they don’t record their own song in the allocated time that is the bands issue.

During the course of this recording I wish not to come across any difficult challenges whilst recording the band as that could prevent us from having a fast start to the 3 tracks we need to complete. The problems we could come across could be the desk doesn’t work as this has happened in the past however I hope this dose not happen whilst doing our recordings, one way to counter this problem would be to try and see if turning it on and of again would work. Other problems that can occur could would be equipment being broken before we go into the studio as the studio is shared with other students on the course, there is no real way to deal with this problem as if its broken you won’t be able to fix it however you could improvise and use other microphones or other amps. Problems that can occur not involving equipment could be the band not showing up to recording sessions, the result of this would be fo me to book in another studio session for us to record in. I could also become ill and not be able to make the session, this would also result in booking another studio session.

Planning

Week 1: This week I plan on completing the drum track for a song made by the band point blank union called “meatloaf”  and a cover song called “god save the queen” as the drums will be the bass of the song and we could build off of them. Hopefully we will complete the drums in the session as it will provide us with a good start to 2 of the three tracks.

Week 2: This week I want to lay down the drum track for “we have no legal budget” and move on to laying down the guitars and vocals onto the track, then all that would be left to do is mix and master the track.

Week 3: This week I want to be able to lay the guitars and vocals down for meatloaf, this would be a good idea as then I would be able to get the mixing and mastering done.

Week 4: This week I want to be able to get down the remaining guitars and vocals for  God save the queen so then I’m able to move forward with mixing and mastering

Week 5: This week I should have mixed and mastered “Meatloaf” and “We have no legal budget” as in my opinion they are the hardest tracks to mix and master.

Week 6: during this week I should have mixed and mastered “god save the queen” and I should have mix and mastered the live lounge recording.

Week 7: During this week I will make sure everything is in good and tidy and ready to be marked.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started