Unit 12 – Problem Solving

While working in a studio there are bound to be things that go wrong, some of them we can help and some of them not so much. However it is more important how we deal with these things because if we don’t then we can’t progress forward.

When it comes to things such as microphone not working it is best to find out what the issue is, firstly I’d make sure that the track was armed and that all the gain levels were turned up. Then I would be changing the XLR so see if it was a faulty cable, then if it was still not working I’d have to resort to changing mic.

Other problems I may encounter could be the desk not working, this has happened before, indications for the desk not working could be outputs being produced in the channel however no sound being permitted. Firstly what I would do is I’d make sure all of the gains were up just in case there was not an actual desk problem, next I would make sure all the gains were down and I’d then have to turn the desk off and on again in hope it restarted it. But if that still didn’t work I’d have to figure out how I’m going to get another whole desk.

COVID-19, due to this I have had to change my whole concept from working in a recording studio to producing my own 3 track EP.

Things that can go wrong with this would be me not being able to gather ideas for my Ep as I do find this a challenge, however I can solve this by listening to similar style songs or I can do some research on my inspiration and look into how they made their track layer by layer.

Other problems I could encounter would be me not being able to find the sound that I’m looking for, for example if I wanted to look for a distorted piano sound and there wasn’t ant I liked, I could either look up a step by step guide on how to get the sound or I can watch an in-depth video on how to use a distortion effect in the piano to mimic the sound I would like.

Promotion is great for getting your music out there however it does come with its own problems, for example when promoting my music if I over promote it, it may irritate some people and make them not want to listen to my music. This would be ineffective and it’s the complete opposite to what I intend.

Different problems that could occur could be things such as not being able to upload my EP onto the platform I want to put it on, this could be a minot issue as to fix it all I would have to dit is change my uploading platform, however the other platform may not be as good or may not have a bigger verity of people on it, therefore it would affect my listens and plays.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started