Unit 8 – Evaluation

18/03/2019

Today was alright as we spoke to the band they seem like an interesting group of people. They told us what they wanted and we went away to do research on bands, nothing went bad or wrong today as it was our first session.

25/03/2019

Today we began to record the drums and we had some issues with the desk channels not working however we fixed the issues and ended up getting g a recording, we could avoid this problem in the future by making sure the channel is armed in the future. Another problem we encountered was the Drummer struggled to record to a click and it took a couple tries to finally get the track completed, to prevent this in the future we asked the drummer to practice recording a click.

01/04/2019

When doing the bass and guitar we didn’t encounter any problems and the recording actually went rather smoothly and there wasn’t any technical issues, however the guitarist took rather long to just bet the first half of the song recorded and completed, I know that sometimes people get nervous and can mess up that’s fine but the problem we had was that it was eating at our time to get the vocals done as well. However we finally managed to get guitar and bass done then we swiftly moved onto the vocals and fortunately it took us one take to get good fitting vocals for the song. So we asked the guitarist to give good time into practicing the songs.

02/04/2019

Today we just had live lounge and honestly it went really well. It was a smooth process as in there weren’t many problems and I wouldn’t change anything about the recording process apart from having an extra mic for the drums however that would lead to a lot of bleed and then there could be a potential problem.

08/04/2019

During the course of today there weren’t many issues but as I said in my weekly diary at the beginning of the session we did have one issue, that being the desk wasn’t responding with the computer however in the end we had to reboot the desk so we were able to use it. In total the session was key in us completing our tracks as it gave us a boost and meant we could redo anything if needed.

22/04/2019

Today was a huge success as it meant now I have done all the recording for that song this meant I could now progress and mix and master the track. Throughout the session we didn’t have any issues apart from the vocalist taking a lot longer than needed but again I gave him the advice of practicing a bit so for the future track we won’t have to take forever. But the total session was a complete success.

29/04/2019

Today we completed the meatloaf track and it was a lot of weight off of my shoulders knowing that we had completed 2/3 tracks. However we got the drums done first try and it was a decent recording, then we moved onto vocals and took many takes to get it but it was an overall success today apart from the few hiccups and failed recordings. There isn’t much I would change because it was a good run despite being frustrated that it repeatedly takes multiple times to do the recordings.

06/05/2019

Today was again another really smooth recording of the band and the pianist and there isn’t much to reflect on as there wasn’t any issues on the performing part or the tachnical side, both solid performances.

13/05/2019

It wasn’t a good start to our day as we was informed that the drummer had left the course and this presented a big problem however we were very lucky that the guitarist actually could play the drums. So then our plans changed from getting the drums completed first we then decided to get the bass and guitar and vocals done, although the recording was smooth it was a real kick in the teeth how the drummer just quit.

20/05/2019

Finally the drums for the track was completed, the studio sessions were over and again the recording was smooth and we ended on a high note with no problems being produced.

Overall

In total The whole year has been a success not just my studio session, but as a producer as well. But for my studio work I feel like I’ve learned a lot from mainly all the bad things that happened such as the desk needing rebooting and also things that we can’t help and just have to improvise with such as the drummer quitting. these were all big challenges to face however I feel like I handled them well and professionally. But as a producer I feel like I’ve achieved a lot as my final track was actually in my opinion good compared to all the other stuff I made, I’ve been shown many techniques by my teachers and my friends, they have both been a big factor in how my work sounds but reflecting and comparing myself to how I started the year and how I ended my year id say I came a Long way.

 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started