Unit 8 – Proposal

Proposal

Since September 2018 I feel like I have progressed as a student because before coming on the course I only studied a bit of music technology as a btech. However having only learnt basic stuff I wasn’t very educated. However when I came to college I learnt many different procedures and techniques.

Whilst studying music I was taught many different techniques to do with making music, firstly I was taught how to put send effects onto my channel strips, this was useful because it made my music sound professional and realistic. Other send effects that where useful where effects such as EQ which is able to take away low end, mid range or high range frequencies. Delay was also another send effect I used on my channels to make the sound have a slight delay as if someone is playing the same notes and chords just a second behind one another. reverb was also taught to me, this brings the instrument or sound more realistic

During unit 1 we had to briefly analyse 2 tracks to each other the 4 tracks I compared were “ikes Rap” by Isaac Hayes, with this track I analysed how it sounded, for example I analysed the tempo and the instruments used within the track, The second track I analysed was “Here” by Alessia Cara, and the other tracks I analysed where “Venom” by Eminem and “lyca” by Swarmz. I chose these songs because I thought they where all diverse as they where from different genres and where different styles. Other things we had to do during unit 1 where create our own track and analyse it.

In Unit 2 we had to talk about 4 tracks and how they made you feel, the 4 tracks I chose where, “venom” by Eminem, “Ay Caramba” by Fredo x Young T & Bugzy, A Boogie Wiv Da Hoodie ft. Kodak Black and “Juicy” by The Notorious Big, these are some of my favourite songs and it was quite fun to actually break them down and reed deep into the sounds used. We also had to do research on effects like eq and reverb. Then we had to analyse the research and then we were asked to evaluate ourselves on how successful the project was to ourselves.

Unit 3 was music Business and we where asked to analyse 3 potential areas of work we could see ourselves in, I chose mixing and mastering engineer, producer and sound engineer, I choose these because these all interest me as they seem fun to do. Then we had to do a risk assessment on 2 areas of the jobs we choose, I wrote risk assessments on a mixing and mastering engineer and also on being a producer. The final part of unit 3 was to create a business plan for one particular area of work that we choose, I chose to create a business plan for being a producer because its what I’m most interested in being.

Unit 4 was live sound venues and research on them. My small venue research was on a local pub near me, my medium venue was on KoKo Camden in London and then for my large venue I did research on the O2 Arena. Then we had to show evidence of us taking part in a performance workshop.

Unit 5 we had to record artists and talk about the techniques we used to record the instruments. Other tasks we had to do where research recording techniques and talk about them, after we had to plan the recording and have a weekly diary of what we wanted to do. Then once we completed the weekly diary you have to evaluate how the recording sessions went.

Unit 6 was about mixing and mastering the first task was about us looking up and finding out about mixing and mastering techniques and them mix and master 2 tracks that we recorded in the previous unit. We also needed a weekly diary of our mixing and mastering process. then we uploaded the tracks to our blog then analysed how well the recording went.

Unit 7 included remixing a track of our choice and our first task for the unit was to identify opportunities within remixing. Our next task was to have a weekly diary of our remixing progress and after we did that we uploaded the track to our blog then analysed the whole process of remixing.

The overall learning experience from unit 1-7 was very helpful towards my Unit 8 because I felt like I learned a lot from the units, I think the most effective unit for me to learn was definitely unit 3 as it made me realise what career I want to pursue in the future and what I am going to focus on in the next year. The 7 Units have influenced my unit 8 work because it has taught me specific techniques across either live sound, working in a studio or working on my own personal tracks.

For My band I want to make sure they are able to make an album by helping to record there tracks for them to release, the band contacted me to record their 3 tracks that they needed to release. By helping them record their 3 tracks it opens opportunities for me to record with them in the future.

Things that have inspired me to work in a studio are producers and artists like Dr Dre and Eminem as they where brought up in bad environments yet still made the best of what they had growing up.

The resources I need to complete My studio recordings would be collage studio as I do not have access or the funds to use another studio, however I shall be using the collage studio with the allocated times and also I will use the studio in my own time. things that will be used within the studio will be vocal mics such as an AKG, Marshall amp and we used a DI for the Bass.

I will record my progress with a weekly diary of my progress starting from my first recording session and I plan on writing up everything I do within the session.

 

 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started