Unit 4 – 2.1

These are just some images of me setting up equipment for live sound. Positions of the equipment is very important not just for the sound effect but because of the stage presence it will give off. If the stage is more appealing to the eye people would always go and see that band over a messy band with their back facing away from you.

Microphone is also very important because when you have different placements of the mic, the different the sound. For example if your mic is far away from the guitar amp you won’t get a nice strong signal.

Health and safety with the wires is also important for live sound as you don’t want a performer getting injured.

sound levels are key for getting the right/ suitable volume for he performance. It’s best to have no volumes peaking as this may distort the sound, another key thing with live sound is to adjust the levels constantly because in different parts of the song, different instruments are going to want to be louder, for example when a guitar solo is about to be played your going to want to boost the volume of the guitar because when it has his solo it’s going to want to be louder.

Whilst working in the workshop I took control when doing live sound for Flavour. Whilst preparing the sound levels I found out that I’m fast and efficient at finding problems and issues when things do go wrong I am able to quickly think of ideas. Another area I thrive in is setting up the equipment on stage, however on the desk I do lack skill wise as I’m rather slow when it comes to putting effects on to channels. Overall whilst doing live sound I feel like I’m very comfortable doing the equipment setup and the problem solving however putting effects on channels would need to be improved.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started