Unit 6 – 3.1

Whilst mixing and mastering the two tracks there are both positives and negatives that can be taken from each track.

Let’s start with meatloaf, whilst mixing and mastering the track I think I did well with all of my decision making with the right amount of reverb onto the actual track, for example the reverb on the vocals and on crunch effect on the guitar sound great, although I don’t think I used enough techniques on that track compared to the acoustic track. Overall I was happy with the meatloaf song although I wish I used more techniques and plug ins to make it sound even better.

With the acoustic act I think the whole outcome of the track was perfect, I personally think that all of the effects I put onto the track where spot on and I was rather proud of this track. However, whilst mixing and mastering the track I found it rather hard to get the sound levels right because the guitar was too overwhelming for the vocals to be heard, I struggled for a while trying to get the sound perfect and then I remembered I could use a compressor to make the vocals stand out more but without making the track peak.

Overall I was happy with my total outcome on both of the tracks but one thing I wish to improve on would be my skill to be able to take my time as I feel like both of the tracks where mainly rushed slightly, especially with the meatloaf track. However meatloaf was by far the more challenging track as there where more instruments being used whereas the acoustic act only had vocals and a guitar.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started