Unit 12 – Planning and Production

Week 1

Within my first week I will begin to work on my track, in going to begin with my first layers so preferably the drums or maybe a bass, I’m going to do this by using a drum machine for the drums as I know I am not that great at putting my own drums in, and if I was going to use a bass id play around on the midi for a while till I found a sound I liked.

Then I may begin to play in the melody with an instrument such as maybe a guitar or piano I’m not so sure yet, then once that is done I may add other thing into the track such as counter melodies however by the first week I plan to have the first track complete.

Week 2

For my second week I plan on having a similar week to my first with grinding out these tracks and I will have a similar approach to them all so id probably start with drums or bass then proceed to gain a melody with maybe not a piano but a lighter sound, for this id maybe use some wood wind instruments.

I aim to have the second track completed at the end of the second week, then just have the third track to do.

Week 3

in my 3rd week of my Ep I aim to have the last track to begin and complete by the end of the week. I cannot see my approach changing when making these tracks so I will be following my usual routine but obviously changing the sound of each track.

This should be the final week of me actually producing these 3 tracks, once I have done this I will aim to Mix and master all of my tracks so they sound professional.

Week 4

For this week I shall be mixing and mastering my first tracks I did, when I’m mixing and mastering I expect to make my track sound professional. To accomplish this I will be adjusting levels of my tracks and applying the appropriate effects.

Important examples of effects I will be using would be things such as compressors so my music wouldn’t clip. other effects that would be useful is stuff like reverb because it will make my music sound as if it was recorded in a room and I would have control how big or small the room is, I could also make it sound as if it was recorded with a tape with the tape delay effect.

Week 5

This will be the second week of me mixing and mastering I will go through the same procedure for the mixing and mastering so I get a nice good mix. There won’t be much difference in methods for the mixing and mastering techniques if I’m going to be honest.

Week 6

Last week of mixing and mastering and i’ll be doing the final track. The process will be the same as the two weeks before because there isn’t much else to say other that I will be using the same process in my mixing and mastering.

Week 7

This week I will be planning on going to go over all of the tracks I have made and see if there is anything I don’t like or If i feel like there is anything to add. This would be a wise thing to do because if I don’t like something I could then potentially improve my work and have a better track and overall EP.

Week 8

With my final week I will be uploading my music onto Youtube, I feel like this platform would be ideal because it has a massive place and also it is very easy to upload onto. I will also be promoting my music on platforms such as instagram, twitter and snapchat to gain a verity of listeners/ streamers.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started